I received this request for assistance. Anyone have any suggestions for him? We should research this person first to see the quality of his films and whether he is the correct person to produce such a film. I put this forward only because it is true that the problem is real, and documentation such as this might be part of the solution... ʻOhu To: LRolirad@aol.com From: lrolirad@aol.com Date: Wed, 2 Apr 2008 23:15:22 -0400 Subject: [hawaii-nation] Film: Native Hawaiians Struggles Hello, I am a filmmaker who has been researching the struggles Native Hawaiians are experiencing due to the ever increasing rise in housing costs, the rising cost of living and the rising numbers of Native Hawaiians who are homeless. I have heard stories of several Native Hawaiian families who have had to leave the islands because they could no longer afford to stay. I will be visiting the Big Island within the next couple of months and I would love to be able to meet with as many Native Hawaiians who are having the difficulties I have mentioned above. It is my goal to highlight the problems they are facing in a documentary film. I have created approximately 300 films and videos in the past eighteen years. I have formed teams of video professionals and I have performed as a producer, editor, cinematographer, writer and graphics artist to produce each project. It is my goal to also utilize talented Hawaiian professionals and also Hawaiian volunteers to complete my project. If you could provide me with a list of people who would want to share their experiences with me during my upcoming visit to the Big Island I would greatly appreciate your help. I would also appreciate any information or locations where I can obtain such information relating to Native Hawaiians leaving the islands. You can either email or call me using the contact information listed below. Thank you for your assistance. I greatly appreciate any help you can provide! Sincerely; Larry S. Rolirad Producer, Editor, Writer, Photo