Komo mai

I've named this group after the first book on Hawaiian History, by the Lahainaluna scholars (my alma mater). I'm a Hawaiian History teacher at Kamehameha Kapalama, and I'll be writing a Hawaiian History textbook next year (on sabbatical). I'd like to explore the debated areas of Hawaiian History, get leads and spread 'ike to try to uncover our history, much of which is suppressed. Please join me. Feel free to start new discussion topics, as there are limitless areas to do so in Hawaiian history. E komo mai kakou!

You need to be a member of maoliworld to add comments!

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Aloha e, and thank you for your work!

One of the best untold stories about kanaka maoli is Henry Oobookiah. His parents were killed in war, and he was made a slave, and he escaped to discover Christianity in Connecticut. The love in his heart and his finding of Jesus helped bring the message of peace and salvation to the islands just in time to replace the broken kapu laws. Even though he never made it back himself, he was like Moses in bringing the good word to Hawaii.

For the debated areas of Hawaiian History, it's really hard to keep things straight, since everyone makes the mistake of romanticizing whatever part they believe in. The great untold story of Hawaii isn't the overthrow of 1893, but the domination of the rich over the poor since even before 1778. The Great Mahele was for the ali'i, not the maka'ainana. Even today, mostly large landed interests control Hawaii, whether or not the controllers are maoli or haole. We even have institutions like DHHL which act as artificial ali'i, keeping the land for themselves but only leasing it out, instead of trusting Hawaiians to own their own property. Even taking a closer look at Kamehameha the Great we find ourselves with blinders, glossing over mass murder at the Pali. Or Pauahi Bishop, who hated hula and wanted to westernize everyone.