Replies

• When I was living on the beach at Onekahakaha in a hale made of pallets, card board and blue tarp, I NEVER once saw these "royal benevolant societies" come offer a helping hand. When I worked as a outreach counselor for the houseless covering the entire windwardside of O'ahu, I never saw these "royal benevolent societies" offer a thing. Now they come out against Hawaiians asserting their right to protest. Poho.
  • E kala mai but both my paternal great grandmother and my paternal grandmother belong to some hui

2670621137?profile=RESIZE_320x320

but I have no plans on joining any group nor be associated with any group mainly because of the groups' attitude of looking down on other Hawaiians.

What bothers me is the attitudes towards some of their own cousins (i.e. other Hawaiians) exhibited in the letter.

I wonder why they would allow their letter to be printed in a newspaper and allow themselves to publicly talk down to other Hawaiians the way they did supposedly stating this:

"While we, the Royal Order of Kamehameha I, 'Ahahui Ka'ahumanu, Hale O Na Ali'i O Hawai'i and Daughters and Sons of Hawaiian Warriors - Mamakakaua recognize the right of free speech, we strongly denounce the actions of this group as well as its claims to be heirs of the Hawaiian Kingdom. We represent the unbroken historical link to Hawai'i's past, and we continue to promote the protocol of our ali'i heritage. Together with The Friends of Iolani Palace, we are working to preserve and maintain the dignity of 'Iolani Palace and its grounds.

"We also oppose this group's claim to have elected a 'head of state,' using the titles of 'her majesty' and 'queen' within the Hawaiian context of a kingdom. Therefore, we continue to recognize, based on historical fact, that the descendants of Prince David Kawananakoa represent the Kalakaua Dynasty and are the Royal Family of the present day.