Learn (some) Olelo Hawaii Here

Aloha kakou: I thought we might benefit from learning/sharing some olelo Hawaii with each other. So here goes... 'O wai kou inoa? (What is your name) kou = your inoa = name No hea mai 'oe? (Where are you from? lit. "from whence are you?") 'oe = you ... ok den, other folks please add on... Aloha! Ikaika

You need to be a member of maoliworld to add comments!

Email me when people reply –

Replies

• Aloha Kakou! I am glad that I stumbled across to this. I studied 'Olelo Hawai'i for 3 years in college and I am still having trouble making my sentences sound right. I am not fluent in Hawaiian but I love the culture aspects of it. I also love Hawaiian music. E malama pono, a hui hou.
    • Learning any language is difficult, mainly because we learn by books, classes, etc. Practice makes perfect as they say and because I do not get to practice, this is why my grammar and aural skills are low. It would be great if we could find some type of forum, whether on the internet or live in person face to face, where we can just practice speaking and hearing it. I personally hate writing other languages, but to me, that only gives you practice in writing it, where you have time to think about it. Practicing in person however requires different skills where you don't have too much time to think about things.

kalani
  • E hoʻomau paha mākou me kou mau nīnau hou:
    We might continue with your new questions:
    hoʻomau (continue)
    paha (perhaps)
    mākou (us [exclusive])
    me (with)
    kou (your ["o" class])
    mau (pluralizing prefix)
    nīnau (question)
    hou (new)

ʻO wai ke ahupuaʻa āu e noho nei?

In what ahupuaʻa do you live? or more literally:
    Who the ahupuaʻa yours to live now? or in pidgin structure, closest to Hawaiian sturcture:
    What da ahupuaa you live now?
    ʻO wai (who query)
    ke (the [for words beginning in k, e, a, o])
    ahupuaʻa (traditional land section)
    āu (yours, "a" class)
    noho (reside, live)